Winners announced at the 26th British Hairdressing Awards

Europe Uncategorized

At a glittering awards ceremony held at the Grosvenor House Hotel, a JW Marriot Hotel, in London’s Park Lane, the winners of HJ’s 26th British Hairdressing Awards were announced.

The biggest event in the hairdressing calendar was a night Angelo Seminara certainly won’t forget as he was announced as the 2010 British Hairdresser of the Year.

Angelo Seminara is in good company, as over the past 26 years there have only been 15 hairdressers who have been awarded this title, the greatest accolade in hairdressing. They are – Trevor Sorbie, Anthony Mascolo, Irvine and Rita Rusk, John Frieda, Andrew Collinge, Nicky Clarke, Charles Worthington, Umberto Giannini, Beverly C, Mark Hill, Antoinette Beenders, Lisa Shepherd, Andrew Barton and Akin Konizi. The newly crowned British Hairdresser of the Year, Angelo was ecstatic when he won the coveted title. “I couldn’t believe it when my name was called out, I was overwhelmed and delighted – winning the title is a dream come true,” said Angelo.

In 1985, the British Hairdressing Awards – presented by Hairdressers Journal International and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional – were launched to recognise and reward hairdressers who were pushing the boundaries of hairdressing forward, creating and setting the trends and excelling in this competitive industry.

Each year hairdressers from all over the UK dedicate months of hard work preparing their entries into one of the sixteen categories. There are nine regional categories covering all areas of the UK, six specialist categories, which include a variety of titles – Afro, Men’s, Newcomer, Artistic Team and Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year, along with the Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year, and the coveted award British Hairdresser of the Year.

Compered by media personality Jonathan Ross with entertainment provided by chart topping Olly Murrs, 1750 guests from the world of hairdressing, fashion and media mingled at the prestigious event. This year Darren Ambrose from D&J Ambrose in Hertfordshire was presented with a Hall of Fame Award for winning the Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year category three times.

Any hairdresser from any salon can enter the awards and compete with the biggest names in the industry on a level playing field. Unlike other awards, the British Hairdressing Awards are based on photographic entries that demonstrate the skills and talents of the entrant. All entries are judged independently by a distinguished panel, with all entries remaining anonymous and all marks counted and compiled by an independent firm of auditors.

The British Hairdressing Awards has significantly raised the profile of British hairdressing both in the UK and overseas. Winners of all the categories can enjoy an increased media profile and the biggest award of the night – British Hairdresser of the Year – is recognised throughout the world, and overnight, the winner will become a tremendous ambassador for British Hairdressing, appearing on TV, radio and in the national and consumer press.

“British hairdressing is renowned throughout the world for its creativity and innovation, and with the British Hairdressing Awards we are recognising, rewarding and celebrating the best of British,” said Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of Hairdressers Journal International, Jayne Lewis-Orr. “The standard of entries in all categories this year was incredible, the judges had a really difficult job and I am sure that in 2011, the standard of entries will continue to inspire and motivate hairdressers throughout the UK.”

The Winners of the 2010 British Hairdressing Awards

HJ’s British Hairdresser of the Year 2010 – Angelo Seminara

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year – Efi Davies, Toni & Guy, Covent Garden

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year – Jody Taylor, Toni & Guy, London

Afro Hairdresser of the Year – Kim Johnson and Michelle Sultan, Hype Coiffure, London

Artistic Team of the Year – RUSH Hair

Newcomer of the Year – Dan Spiller, Marc Antoni, Fleet

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year – Christel Lundqvist HOB, London

London Hairdresser of the Year – Skyler McDonald, seanhanna, Putney

Southern Hairdresser of the Year – Seung-ki-Baek, RUSH Epsom

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Christopher Appleton, George’s Hairdressing, Leicester

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year – Lewis Moore and Jacky Crosby, Francesco Group, Streetly

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year – Alexander Turnball, Alexander Hair and Beauty, Hull

North Western Hairdresser of the Year – Sharon Peake, Ethos Hairdressing, Manchester

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year – Scott Smurthwaite and Will Eagles, Cream, Gloucester

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year – Kay McIntyre, McIntyre’s, Dundee

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year – Keith Kane, Keith Kane Hair International, Belfast