One Week to go – British Hairdressing Awards

Europe Uncategorized

With only a week to go until the winners are announced at HJ’s British Hairdressing Awards sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, the anticipation and excitement is mounting for hairdressers around the UK as Monday 22nd November approaches.

The glittering awards ceremony will be held at the Grosvenor House Hotel, a JW Marriott Hotel in London’s Park Lane.

The British Hairdressing Awards is the ‘Oscars’ of the British hairdressing industry, and sets the standard in creativity, inspiring hairdressers around the globe. In its 26th year, the event celebrates the best in British hairdressing – recognising and rewarding stylists throughout the UK within the nine regional categories, six specialist categories including Newcomer of the Year, Men’s Hairdresser of the Year and the Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year, and the much coveted British Hairdresser of the Year title.

In 2010 there are seven nominees for British Hairdresser of the Year – Errol Douglas, Tim Hartley, Mark Hayes, Akin Konizi, Angelo Seminara, Phil Smith and Gary Hooker & Michael Young, all of whom hope to follow in the footsteps of industry icons Trevor Sorbie, Charles Worthington, Andrew Collinge, Nicky Clarke and John Frieda and be named HJ’s British Hairdresser of the Year. Following a cocktail reception, gourmet dinner and chart-topping entertainment, the sixteen regional and specialist category awards are announced by one of the most popular personalities in the media. This year the British Hairdressing Awards Hall of Fame will have a new inductee, as Darren Ambrose will receive the trophy for winning Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year, in three previous years.

The 2009 event is a night the current British Hairdresser of the Year, Akin Konizi won’t forget. A jubilant Akin commented, “Winning British Hairdresser of the Year for the second time running will definitely go down as one of those monumental moments, not only in my career, but in my whole life! It was a mix of excitement, delight, relief and disbelief! This award means so much to me and being awarded it twice is such a tremendous accolade. These awards are the most anticipated night in the hairdressing calendar and to be a finalist or winner in these awards is the highest reward any hairdresser could dream of.”

Publisher/Editor-in-Chief of Hairdressers Journal International Jayne Lewis-Orr adds, “Each year the standard of work gets better and better and this year is no exception. We are so proud that British hairdressing has tremendous standing within the rest of the world and the British Hairdressing Awards prove that British is definitely best”

The 2010 British Hairdressing Awards Finalists

Regional Finalists

Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Christopher Appleton – George’s Hairdressing – Leicester
Simon Cawthorne – Simon Cawthorne – Rutland
Terri Kay – Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind – Mansfield
Neil Smith – Barrie Stephen Hair – Anstey
Anne McGuigan – Anne McGuigan Hair & Beauty – Leighton Buzzard
Hayley Welling – Cienté – Berkhamsted

London Hairdresser of the Year

Darren Bain – HOB Salons – Baker Street
Sean Dawson – HOB Salons – Camden
Andrew Heasman – RUSH – Victoria
Skyler McDonald – seanhanna – Putney
Desmond Murray – Atherton Cox – Marylebone
Jamie Stevens – Errol Douglas – Knightsbridge

Midlands Hairdresser of the Year

Sarah and Adrian Bowron – Aesthetics – Solihull
Anya Dellicompagni – Francesco Group – Stafford
Nick Malenko and Royston Blythe – Royston Blythe – Wolverhampton
Lewis Moore and Jacky Crosby – Francesco Group – Streetly
Katie Mulcahy – Lisa Shepherd Salons – Birmingham
James Whyte – Soul Hair – Chester

North Eastern Hairdresser of the Year

Adele Bourne and Rebecca Dickenson – The Vanilla Rooms – Bawtry
Joseph Ferraro – Halo – Harrogate
Hannah Gordon – Paul Gordon – Scunthorpe
Sara Sumner – Hooker & Young – Jesmond
Alexander Turnbull – Alexander Hair and Beauty – Hull
Jill Watkins – Wright-Watkins-Wright Hairdressing – Thirsk

Northern Ireland Hairdresser of the Year

Julian Dalrymple – The Sitting Room Hairdressing – Ballymena
Kevin Kahan – Kevin Kahan-Bangor
Keith Kane-Keith – Kane Hair International – Belfast
Sharon Malcolm – Sharon Malcolm Hairdressing – Newtownards
Andrew Mulvenna – Andrew Mulvenna Hairspa – Belfast
Joanne O’Neill – Joanne O’Neill Hairdressing – Dunloy

North Western Hairdresser of the Year

Carly Aplin – CRC Cutting Room Creative – Leeds
Harry Boocock – The Hair Studio – Leeds
Jamilla Paul – Jamilla Paul Hair & Beauty – Rochdale
Sharon Peake – Ethos Hairdressing – Manchester
Gary Taylor – Edward and Co – Brighouse
Melenie Tudor – En Route Hair & Beauty – Wakefield

Scottish Hairdresser of the Year

Philip Bell – Ishoka – Aberdeen
Nelson Brown – Browns – Dumfries
Suzie McGill – Rainbow Room International – Uddingston
Kay McIntyre – McIntyre’s – Dundee
Thomas McMillan – Cox McMillan – Bothwell
Janer Stewart – Angels – Aberdeen
Karen Thomson – KAM Hair and Body Spa – Lossiemouth

Southern Hairdresser of the Year

Leo Bancroft – Leo Bancroft Salon – Weybridge
Bruno Marc Giamattei – Marc Antoni – Henley-on-Thames
Seung Ki Baek – RUSH – Epsom
Robert Kirby – Sanrizz – Southampton
Victoria Nebbett – Monroe Hairdressing – Leatherhead
Gary Russell – The Chapel Hair & Spa – Tunbridge Wells

Wales & South West Hairdresser of the Year

Craig Chapman – Craig Chapman Salon – Launceston
Melanie Giles – Melanie Giles – Bath
Daniel Neaves – D.K.N. Hair – Salterton
Ken Picton – Ken Picton – Cardiff Bay
Louise Smith – Toni & Guy – Salisbury
Scott Smurthwaite and Will Eagles – Cream – Gloucester

Specialist Categories

Afro Hairdresser of the Year

Craig Chapman – Craig Chapman Salon – Launceston
Junior Green – Junior Green Hair and Beauty – London
Kim Johnson and Michelle Sultan – Hype Coiffure – London
Jamie Stevens – Errol Douglas – London
Michelle Thompson – Francesco Group Advanced Academy – Stafford
Sandra Webb – Sandra Webb Hair & Beauty – London

Artistic Team of the Year

Bloww Hair & Urban Spa – London
HOB Salons – London
Hooker & Young – Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind – Mansfield
Rainbow Room International – Glasgow
RUSH – London

Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year

Craig Chapman – Craig Chapman Salon – Launceston
Efi Davies – Toni & Guy – Covent Garden
Skyler McDonald – seanhanna – Putney
Leonardo Rizzo – Sanrizz – Knightsbridge
Indira Schauwecker – Toni & Guy – Covent Garden
Anne Veck – Anne Veck Salons – Oxford

Men’s Hairdresser of the Year

Kerry Hayden – Atherton Cox – London
Brett MacDonald – SACO Hair – London
Jorych Marsili – Toni & Guy – London
Jim Shaw – Essensuals Men – Billericay
Jamie Stevens – Errol Douglas – London
Ross Strong – D & J Ambrose – Pinner
Jody Taylor – Toni & Guy – London

Newcomer of the Year

Kelly Craven-Salvatelli – Toni & Guy – Salisbury
Ashley Gamble – Royston Blythe – Wolverhampton
Costa Phouli – RUSH – Epsom
Jasmine Redstone – RUSH – Croydon
Dan Spiller – Marc Antoni – Fleet
Matt Stopps – RUSH – Walton-on-Thames

Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year

Stuart Bane – D & J Ambrose – Pinner
Karen Dodds – CRC Cutting Room Creative – Leeds
Mark Leeson – Mark Leeson Hair, Body & Mind – Mansfield
Christel Lundqvist – HOB Salons – London
Carly Roberts – Marc Antoni – Fleet
Tim Scott-Wright – Lisa Shepherd Salons – Birmingham