Anjool Maldé Memorial Trust announces winners of Jools Awards 2015

Real life Uncategorized

Some 17 among the UK’s brightest talents won Jools Awards in 2015. Each year Anjool’s Trust – the AMMT – presents awards and prize money to exemplary achievers across scholarship and citizenship, music, journalism, photography and enterprise and innovation.


DEtour, Winners of the Company of the Year Award, left to right: Min-Hsuan Liang – Design Director; Irene Canuti – MD and Product Manager; Felix Dornseifer – Marketing Director; Samriddhi Chakraborty – Sales Director; Olga Spasskaya – Finance Director. (photo courtesy Young Enterprise)


Fli at work, illustration of DEtour product ‘fli’ (photo courtesy Togada)


Anjool Maldé Scholarship Winners, left to right: Yan Wei Chan, Alice McAndrew,  Ayushi Nayak, Rachel Wright, Alexandra Halliday, James McEvoy Stevenson, Luke Miller. (photo courtesy St Peter’s College)


Fine Art Photography Winner Darran Milburn with a sample exhibit alongside (photo courtesy self)


Commercial Photography Winner Luke Anderson with some of his portfolio exhibits (photo courtesy self)


Jazz Prize Winner Matt Davies (photo courtesy Guildhall School of Music & Drama)


Matt Davies receiving his award from Martin Hathaway, Head of Jazz (photo courtesy Guildhall School of Music & Drama)


Communications Award Winner Yanni Chow (photo courtesy self)

The Trust was set up by Anjool’s many well-wishers in 2010 (Anjool Maldé, 7 July 1984 – 5 July 2009) as a legacy to Jools – as Anjool’s friends called him – and his rich array of keenly pursued interests as reflected by the five Awards.

Starting with the Innovation Award, the Trust is delighted to launch its first team award. The Innovation and Enterprise Award, hitherto an individual excellence award run in partnership with Enternships, will now be a team award co-hosted by Young Enterprise in form ofCompany of the Year Award.

The inaugural winners were DEtour, an exciting team from Kingston University for their invention of fli, a user-centric device that enables individuals to cushion and recharge themselves against the myriad pressures of modern life. Irene Canuti, DEtour’s CEO said they were all: “Absolutely thrilled – we intend to use the prize money to progress our product development plans and business ambitions”. The team have now progressed to the European stage of the competition.

Jools Scholarship (co-hosted by St Peter’s College) went to (see photo, courtesy SPC, L to R): Yan Wei Chan (Singapore), Alice McAndrew (Exeter),  Ayushi Nayak (India), Rachel Wright (Caterham, Surrey), Alexandra Halliday (Devizes, Wiltshire),  James McEvoy Stevenson (Liverpool), Luke Miller (Hassocks, West Sussex).

St Peter’s College issued the following statement: “The ability to make an outstanding contribution to the College community whilst maintaining academic excellence is extremely valuable. Therefore, we were delighted to award scholarships to seven students who displayed such a talent this year. The awards have special significance for our scholars as they recognise the extra effort that goes into enhancing students’ experience of St Peter’s”.

Thrilled at winning the Award, Ayushi said: “Being at St Peter’s is a childhood dream come true”. Yan Wei added: “The Scholarship is a very important, much needed, encouragement for me”. Rachel commented: “I cannot tell you how very much the Scholarship means to me – I hope to use the prize money to work as a volunteer on a marine conservation project”. Alexandra concluded: “The Scholarship has been a real encouragement to me in my studies and wider college life – thank you”.

The Photography Award, co-hosted by Stockton Arts Development and the Cleveland College of Art & Design, went to Darran Milburn (Hartburn, Stockton on Tees) for Fine Art Photography and Luke Anderson (Middlesbrough) for Commercial Photography.

Co-judge Rachel Willis (Stockton Arts Development) praised their work warmly: “Luke and Darran are very talented and deserving of the Award. Their work is of an extremely high quality and they also made a huge contribution during their time at the college”.

Darran said: “Such a generous award – makes all my hard work and commitment very worthwhile, instilling a sense of pride in the knowledge that my work was and is enjoyed by so many people, with the money going toward the first instalment for my progression on to an MA”. Luke commented:“It’s a great honour to be awarded the Anjool Maldé Award and be celebrated for the effort I have put in”.

This year the Trust was also delighted to offer an honorarium to the Dean Brodwick Award winner Owen Smith (Northallerton, N Yorks) for his recognised special talent in graphic design.

The Jazz Prize (co-hosts Guildhall School of Music & Drama) went to the saxophonist Matt Davies (Horsham, West Sussex). Matt achieved the highest mark of all the undergraduate jazz musicians in his final recital at Guildhall School of Music & Drama. Martin Hathaway, Head of Jazz, commented: “His final recital displayed a broad range of jazz and jazz associated playing styles, performed with fluency and a strong sense of communication.”

This year’s unplaced Journalism Award morphed into the Anjool Maldé Communication Award and has been awarded to Hiu-Yan (Yanni) Chow (Eastbourne, East Sussex, formerly from Hong Kong) of Loughborough University.  The Examination Board issued the following statement in support: “Hiu-Yan Chow received the  Anjool Maldé Communications Award in recognition of her outstanding academic performance and her achievement of the highest average degree score on BSc Communications and Media Studies at Loughborough University in 2015”. With a keen interest in communications, Hiu Yan has completed placements in marketing, PR and business development both in the UK and abroad, and is soon to start at Google in advertising.

Gemma Shaw on behalf of the Trust: “We extend our warmest congratulations to all the winners for their exemplary talent and achievements. We thank all our helpers and generous donors, without whose support the Trust cannot deliver its mission. We welcome our new co-hosts, Young Enterprise, and are grateful to Enternships for fronting the Enterprise & Innovation Award from 2011 to 2014 – we are delighted that its CEO Raj Dey remains keenly supportive of Jools’ Trust and its mission. Thank you also to Isobel and Ed of Yarm for hosting a garden tea event that raised a much appreciated sum for the Trust. We wish all our winners the brightest futures and continued great success”.